No More Chinese Communist Party

February 28, 2010

Beaten to within an inch of his life, Ai Weiwei is still defiant.

Filed under: Uncategorized — carryanne @ 9:47 pm
Tags: ,

An artist’s struggle for justice in China

When you walk in to Ai Weiwei’s studio in Beijing’s Chuangyi art district, your eye is immediately drawn to the rows of A4 paper that make up a large rectangle on one wall. Each of these sheets of paper bears a set of names. There are 5,250 in total. They are the children who perished in the Sichuan earthquake two years ago.

He attracts so much attention from people with grievances and complaints that you wonder how long his constant barrage of criticism will be tolerated. Other outspoken critics such as Hu Jia and Liu Xiaobo are already in jail.

“I’ve been doing too much, I realise this. It’s a pity I’ve become this figure. Every time I say I shouldn’t do so much because I’m putting myself in an awkward position but life’s not like that. I’m not scared to be in jail, I’d just have to deal with it,” he said.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

