No More Chinese Communist Party

January 22, 2009

“Persian Xiaozhao: I Signed My Name After a Good Cry!”

Filed under: Uncategorized — carryanne @ 12:48 am

CDT posted this incredible article about a woman blogger who at first out of fear did not sign her name to the Charter 08, but then she went through what she describes below and I think it is like what many people in China feel and I support her and all Chinese people’s freedom of thought, and justice.

We are deprived of the rights that we are supposed to enjoy. Those who hold public power are supposed to change all this, but they are not going to. They are obsessed with torturing some people and intimidating some others and the result is an eerily silent burial ground that used to be a great land.

We just want to discuss the future of this country. We want to live a better life than what we have now. We want to live more freely without having to listen to crap like “demolition in any place will lead to deaths” and “China’s human rights record is five times better then that of the U.S.” We don’t want to witness tragedies year after year and to write elegies for the victims day after day. Charter 08 is our future. We can already see it, but we are not able to touch it yet. I am anxiously and whole-heartedly looking forward to the advent of democracy. But they even deleted such a post of mine and didn’t allow any mention of democracy, human rights and freedom. Those in power are not serving the people but using the police to deal with scholars that are concerned about the country’s future.

Despair from the bottom of the heart is the greatest sorrow. My heart has died numerous times, but this time it’s thoroughly dead. I don’t want to live. I don’t want to live as a walking dead person in this shameless country where the right to speak has been deprived. I don’t want to live. I don’t want to live on this dirty land without dignity and freedom. I don’t want to live. I don’t want to live in the terrifying atmosphere that has been all over me ever since my birth into this world.

I had a busy day on December 15. I came home in the evening and sat in front the computer. I first checked if there were any new signatures and then opened my email account to send a message to 2008xianzhang@gmail.com. It’s that simple, with no extra words. I was calm and in a normal mental state when I signed my name. There was no one coercing or instigating me and I did it completely on my own accord. It’s a true reflection of what I think. It’s my right to express an opinion for or against something with a signature. I am not going to waive that right. My action hasn’t violated any Chinese laws. If this signature is going to bring me any illegal trouble, I’ll calmly face it.

1 Comment »

  1. Good for her!!!
    I for one support her, I wish more did
    She is clever!
    Guy

    Comment by Guy Lakeman — January 29, 2009 @ 1:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

